Chocolate + Cupcakes

cupcakes

Tomorrow is National Cupcake Day and Wednesday, December 16 is (seriously) National Chocolate-Covered-Anything Day.   I’m going to take advantage of these two days and eat a lot of sweets.   When you get older, that sweet tooth from your pre-teen years revisits you and damn it if it’s not fun to eat 1/2 a pumpkin pie or 6 cookies again!

My glory days of athletics, wonderful as they were, are definitely in the rearview.  I realize now in my advancing years I will no longer need to work on my jump shot or my slap shot.  I won’t break a 9:00 mile again.

I play golf.  Golf is fine, but the only thing you’re going to shape in that sport is a nifty right to left baby draw that lands on the green like a butterfly with sore feet – which I can do.  But really, my happy life is pared down to my wife, our cats-that-think-they’re-dogs, our friends and family and eating and drinking.  And I’m perfectly happy with that.

So tomorrow, I’m celebrating National Cupcake Day with a large Carrot Cake Cupcake with gobs of Cream Cheese Frosting; then I’m having a Death By Chocolate Cupcake, the one with all the gorgeous, gooey, cocoa-infused ganache.   And if I gain a pound or two, guess what?  I’ve earned it, and then some.  I can’t wait for tomorrow!  Know why?

Because today was National Bouillabaisse Day.   I’ll wait for cupcakes.

Now, go eat something!

 

 

Leave a Reply

